Creative Young Engineers Selected to Participate in NAE's 2008 Frontiers of Engineering Symposium


Tue, June 17, 2008

June 17, 2008 —

Creative Young Engineers Selected to Participate in NAE's 2008 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium

WASHINGTON -- Eighty-two of the nation's brightest young engineers have been selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering's (NAE) 14th annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering symposium. The 2½-day event will bring together engineers ages 30 to 45 who are performing exceptional engineering research and technical work in a variety of disciplines. The participants -- from industry, academia, and government -- were nominated by fellow engineers or organizations and chosen from more than 230 applicants. 

"America's competitiveness will largely depend upon the next generation of innovators," said NAE President Charles M. Vest. "The U.S. Frontiers of Engineering program brings some of the country's rising-star engineers, from a diverse range of disciplines, together for an exchange of ideas that will surely help contribute to keeping us at the forefront of technological advancement and may even spark a breakthrough that changes the way we live."

The symposium will be hosted Sept. 18-20 by Sandia National Laboratories at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, and will examine emerging nanoelectric devices, cognitive engineering, drug delivery systems, and understanding and countering the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction. A featured speaker will be Alton D. Romig Jr., senior vice president and deputy director for integrated technologies and systems, Sandia National Laboratories. Dr. Romig leads Sandia's engineering and development activities for U.S. programs in nonproliferation, counterintelligence, security, energy and resources, and infrastructure. His expertise in materials science garnered him the National Materials Advancement Award, and he is a member of the NAE.


The following engineers were selected as general participants:

Bryan Adams iRobot Corp.
Holger Amort Arkema Inc.
Jose Andrade Northwestern University
Shelley Anna Carnegie Mellon University
Ralph Anthenien Army Research Office
Sasan Bakhtiari Argonne National Laboratory
Alexandre Bayen University of California, Berkeley
Igor Benko Sun Microsystems Inc.
Nicole Blute Malcolm Pirnie Inc.
Alexandria Boehm Stanford University
Joshua Boltz CH2M HILL
Josh Bongard University of Vermont
Donald Bott Xerox Corp.
Maggie Bynum Agilent Laboratories
Kirk Cameron Virginia Tech
Jonathan Caulkins Carnegie Mellon University
Leo Chiang Dow Chemical Co.
Mung Chiang Princeton University
Tushar Choudhary ConocoPhillips Co.
Catherine Corrigan Exponent Inc.
Levent Degertekin Georgia Institute of Technology
Tim Denison Medtronic Inc.
Christopher Doerr Alcatel-Lucent, Bell Labs
Amy Duwel Charles Stark Draper Laboratory
Thomas Epps University of Delaware
Malcolm Fabiyi Praxair Inc.
Roy Fielding Day Software, Inc.
Tim Frazier Cummins Inc.
Chris Gearhart Ford Motor Co.
Kathleen Gillespie General Motors Corp.
Alex Gorokhov Qualcomm Inc.
Michael Graham University of Wisconsin, Madison
James Gregory Ohio State University
Louise Hamlin NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Mitra Hartmann Northwestern University
Katherine Herrick Raytheon Co.
Inseok Hwang Purdue University
Michael Isard Microsoft Research
Paul Jacob MMI Engineering Inc.
Hamid Jafarkhani University of California, Irvine
Zhenhua Jiang University of Miami
Vanja Josifovski Yahoo! Inc.
Annie Kammerer Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Paul Kenis University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Brian Kirby Cornell University
Mayuresh Kothare Lehigh University
Robert Leland Sandia National Laboratories
Guifang Li University of Central Florida
Reece Lumsden Boeing Co.
Zhengxiang Ma FutureWei Technologies Inc.
Ellen Mangan MathWorks Inc.
Russell Meller University of Arkansas
Karen Miller Drexel University
Raymond Moran PB Americas Inc.
Vivek Narasayya Microsoft Research
Patrick O'Mara STV Inc.
Matteo Pasquali Rice University
Michael Picciolo SAIC
Mark Prausnitz Georgia Institute of Technology
Amy Pruden Colorado State University
Christopher Schuh Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jeffrey Scruggs Duke University
Jayshree Seth 3M Co.
Marcus Shaw Aerospace Corp.
Andrew Singer University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
James Singletary DuPont Co.
Eric Smith Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Narayan Srinivasa HRL Laboratories LLC
Shaun Sullivan Ingersoll-Rand Co. Ltd.
Mark Swihart University at Buffalo (SUNY)
Jose Tabora Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.
Ichiro Takeuchi University of Maryland
Hong Tang Yale University
Jason Trachewsky Broadcom Corp.
Andrew Tsourkas University of Pennsylvania
Stephen Uftring Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Omar Varela ExxonMobil Upstream Research Co.
Carlo Williams Corning Inc.
Peter Winzer Alcatel-Lucent, Bell Labs
Jihui Yang General Motors Research & Development Center
Ji-Cheng Zhao Ohio State University
Michelle Zhou IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center

Speakers at this year's event are:

Charles Beames USSTRATCOM Center for Combating Weapons of Mass Destruction
Ann Bisantz University at Buffalo
Ronald Boring Idaho National Laboratory
Xiaohu Gao University of Washington
Stephanie Guerlain University of Virginia
Jeffrey Hrkach BIND Biosciences Inc.
Ali Javey University of California, Berkeley
John Lee University of Iowa
Joseph Martz Los Alamos National Laboratory
Samir Mitragotri University of California, Santa Barbara
Steven Nixon Office of the Director of National Intelligence
Mihri Ozkan University of California, Riverside
Daniel Pack University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Jeff Welser IBM and SRC Nanoelectronics Research Initiative
Nikolai Zhitenev National Institute of Standards and Technology

The organizers of the 2008 symposium are:

Barrett Caldwell Purdue University
Jia Chen IBM Corp.
J. Scott Goldstein SAIC
William Grieco PetroAlgae LLC
Efrosini Kokkoli University of Minnesota
Julia Phillips Sandia National Laboratories
Kim Vicente University of Toronto
Victor Zhirnov Semiconductor Research Corp.

Sponsors for the 2008 U.S. Frontiers of Engineering are the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), Department of Defense (DDR&E-Research), the National Science Foundation, Corning Inc., Cummins Inc., The Grainger Foundation, Intel Corp., Microsoft Research, Sun Microsystems Inc., Sandia National Laboratories, and numerous individual donors.

A meeting program and more information about Frontiers of Engineering is available at <>.

# # #

Janet Hunziker
Janet Hunziker
NAE Senior Program Officer
Frontiers of Engineering, National Academy of Engineering
Randy Atkins
Randy Atkins
NAE Senior Media Relations Officer
Media Relations, National Academy of Engineering

The National Academy of Engineering is an independent, nonprofit institution that serves as an adviser to government and the public on issues in engineering and technology.  Its members consist of the nation's premier engineers, who are elected by their peers for their distinguished achievements.  Established in 1964, NAE operates under the congressional charter granted to the National Academy of Sciences in 1863.