FOE Alumni Among the National Academy of Inventors 2018 Fellows

Mon, March 25, 2019

Election to NAI Fellow status is the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society. NAI Fellows hold more than 32,000 issued U.S. patents, which have generated over 9,400 licensed technologies and companies, and created more than 1.3 million jobs. In addition, over $137 billion in revenue has been generated based on NAI Fellow discoveries. We congratulate the FOE alumni listed below for being recognized.



Hal Alper University of Texas at Austin
Rashid Bashir University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Constance Chang-Hasnain University of California, Berkeley
Karl Deisseroth Stanford University
Linda Griffith Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Alex Huang University of Texas at Austin
Bahram Javidi University of Connecticut
Jingyue Ju Columbia University
Muriel Medard Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ellis Meng University of Southern California
Lalit Mestha University of Texas at Arlington / KinetiCor, Inc.
William Murphy University of Wisconsin, Madison
Aydogan Ozcan University of California, Los Angeles
Rahul Sarpeshkar Dartmouth College
Christine Schmidt University of Florida
David Tirrell California Institute of Technology