Fifteen FOE Alumni Inducted Into NAE at Annual Meeting

Mon, October 21, 2019

Fifteen FOE alumni are among the 86 new members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/ implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Richard Braatz, MIT (2008 IAFOE)
Wei Chen, Northwestern University (1997 US FOE, 2005 GAFOE)
Karl Deisseroth, Stanford University (2009 JAFOE)
Sharon Glotzer, University of Michigan (1998 US FOE)
Kathryn McCarthy, Canadian Nuclear Laboratories (2001, 2002 US FOE)
Gareth McKinley, MIT (1996 US FOE)
Sharon Nunes, IBM ret’d (2000, 2001 US FOE)
Christopher Schuh, MIT (2008 US FOE, 2012 IAFOE)
Patrick Shanahan, formerly Boeing and US DoD (1995, 1999, 2000 US FOE)
John Speer, Colorado School of Mines (1998 US FOE)
Kay Stanney, Design Interactive Inc. (1997 US FOE)
Vahid Tarokh, Duke University (2002 US FOE)
Jean Tom, Bristol-Myers Squibb (2007 US FOE)
Claire Tomlin, UC Berkeley (2002 US FOE)
Nicola Spaldin, ETH Zurich (2002 US FOE) was inducted as a foreign member.