Seventeen FOE Alumni Elected to NAE

Thu, October 22, 2020

Seventeen FOE alumni were among the 86 new members and 18 international members elected to the National Academy of Engineering in February. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the NAE’s annual meeting in October was held virtually so new members were not able to be inducted in a formal ceremony. There will be a joint induction ceremony for the Classes of 2020 and 2021 at the 2021 NAE Annual Meeting. Read the press release Read the press release here.

Stephan Biller, Advanced Manufacturing Inc. (2006 USFOE, 2008 IAFOE)
Raffaello D'Andrea , (International Member), ETH Zurich (2000 USFOE)
Reginald DesRoches, Rice University (2001 USFOE, 2004 GAFOE, 2009 CAFOE)
Kenneth Goodson, Stanford University (1999 GAFOE)
Ioannis Kevrekidis, Johns Hopkins University (2004 USFOE)
Julia Kornfield, California Institute of Technology (1996 USFOE)
Paul Krajewski, General Motors Research Laboratories (2002 USFOE)
Thomas Kurfess, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1996 USFOE, 1999 GAFOE)
Paul McKenzie, CSL Behring (2004 USFOE)
Muriel Médard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2006 IAFOE)
Russell Meller, Fortna, Inc. (2008 USFOE)
Laura Niklason, Yale University (2000 USFOE, 2007 JAFOE)
Per Peterson, University of California, Berkeley (1999 USFOE, 2001 USFOE, 2002 USFOE)
Amarpreet Singh Sawhney, Instylla LLC. (1996 USFOE)
Rudolf Tromp, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center (2000 USFOE)
Kerry Vahala, California Institute of Technology (1995 USFOE)
Richard Vaia, Air Force Research Laboratory (2011 US FOE, 2014 EU-US FOE)