Thirteen FOE Alumni Elected to NAE


Thu, February 09, 2023

Washington, DC, United States, February 09, 2023 —

Thirteen FOE alumni are among the 106 new members and 18 international members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education." Read the press release here.

Mark Allen (2003 GAFOE)
Andrew Alleyne (2004 USFOE, 2006 IAFOE)
Shorya Awtar (2011 USFOE)
Markus Buehler (2007 USFOE, 2008 IAFOE, 2013 GAFOE)
Leo Chiang (2008 USFOE, 2011 EU-US FOE)
Peter Cummings (1999 USFOE, 2000 USFOE)
Jennifer Sinclair Curtis (2003 USFOE, 2008 GAFOE)
Benny Freeman (1995 USFOE, 2002 GAFOE)
Mark Prausnitz (2008 USFOE)
Elias Towe (2000 GAFOE)
Gregory Washington (2004 USFOE)
Paul Westerhoff (2005 JAFOE, 2006 USFOE, 2007 USFOE)
Ji-Cheng (JC) Zhao (2008 USFOE, 2009 CAFOE)

L. Eileen Erickson
L. Eileen Erickson
Director, Office of Outreach and Communications