Innovative Early-Career Engineers Selected to Participate in The Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering 2024 Symposium of the National Academy of Engineering


Thu, June 27, 2024

Washington, DC, June 27, 2024 —

Seventy-six highly accomplished, early-career engineers have been selected to participate in the 2024 The Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Symposium, a signature activity of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Engineers who are performing exceptional research and technical work in a variety of disciplines will come together to share new techniques and approaches across fields, facilitate collaboration in engineering, and build professional networks among the next generation of engineering leaders.

“Engineering impacts every aspect of our lives. From transportation to global communications, medical advancements, water and food security … to the everyday items that make our lives easier, engineering plays a vital role,” said NAE President John L. Anderson. “As our world evolves, engineering must too. That means that engineers must be ready with the advanced knowledge and professional networks needed to create new solutions that meet the needs of our ever-changing world.”

The 2024 USFOE will be held September 11-14 at the National Academies’ Beckman Center in Irvine, California, and will explore four themes:

  • Water-Air-Surface Connections for Indoor Microbiology and Health
  • Building the Future of AI
  • Understanding and Engineering Connections Between the Gut and the Brain
  • The Impending Revolution of Digital Twin

“The NAE’s Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Symposium provides an information-rich environment in which engineers across disciplines can learn, network and share among their peers with an eye toward working collaboratively in the future,” Anderson added.

Participants selected to participate in The Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Symposium were nominated by fellow engineers, or organizations and represent a broad mix of engineering disciplines from industry, academia, and government. Since the program’s inception in 1995, more than 5,000 early-career engineers have participated in previous symposia, many of whom have gone on to become national leaders in the engineering community.

The following seventy-six engineers were selected as general participants for 2024:

Alex Abramson

Georgia Institute of Technology

Anita Alexander


Emma Alexander

Northwestern University

Luis Alvarez

MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Satyajith Amaran


Phillip Ansell

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Andrea Arias Purdue

HRL Laboratories

Brent Bacchus

General Motors

Elisabetta Barzi


Sara Berger

IBM Research

EeShan Bhatt

Applied Ocean Sciences

June Bott

Exponent Inc.

David Burgenson

Sutro Biopharma

Paul Burke

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Lukas Campe

CSL Behring

Jackie Cha

Clemson University

Jennifer Church


Kelsey Collins

University of California, San Francisco

Daniel Congreve

Stanford University

Katie Daisey

Arkema Inc.

Jackson DelBonis ODonnell

Agilent Technologies

Ilke Demir

Intel Corporation

Bailu Ding

Microsoft Corp.

Jeffrey Donatelli

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Connor Galleher


Kate Galloway

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Joseph Gaudio


Andrew (Bean) Getsoian

Ford Motor Company

LoriAnne Groo

Air Force Research Laboratory

Michael Hays


Bridget Hegarty

Case Western Reserve University

Julie Hipp

Procter & Gamble

David Johnson

Purdue University

William Joost


Andrew Keller


Fadoua Khmaissia

Nokia Bell Labs

Christina Kim

University of California, Davis

Laura Kim

University of California, Los Angeles

Mark Knight

Northrop Grumman Space Systems

Keshav Kohli

Abbott Laboratories

Elaine Lee

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Emma Lejeune

Boston University

Cheri Li


Xingpeng Li

University of Houston

Juan Londono

Thornton Tomasetti

Dalton Lunga

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Ma Luo


Neda Maghsoodi

University of Southern California

Anand Makwana

Air Products & Chemicals Inc.

Cassandra Miller

GE Aerospace

Mark Moran

Deere & Company

Craig Nie


Silvana Ovaitt

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Juan Manuel Restrepo-Florez

University of Florida

Carlos Rios Ocampo

University of Maryland, College Park

Timothy Rogers

Purdue University

Samitha Samaranayake

Cornell University

Mara Schindelholz

Sandia National Laboratories

Melda Sezen Edmonds

Bristol Myers Squibb

Tatenda Shopera

Pfizer Inc.

Pierre-Clément Simon

Idaho National Laboratory

Puneet Singh

Systems Technology Inc.

Francesca Stramandinoli

RTX Technology Research Center

Hui (Michelle) Sun


Amaris Torres-Delgado


Ryan Truby

Northwestern University

Tyler Van Buren

University of Delaware

Mengdi Wang

Princeton University

Yuxiong Wang

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Victoria Webster-Wood

Carnegie Mellon University

Yijing Xie

University of Texas at Arlington

Jie Xu

Argonne National Laboratory

Rabia Yazicigil Kirby

Boston University

YIng Yu


Junbo Zhao

University of Connecticut

Sheng (Mark) Zheng

ExxonMobil Technology and Engineering Company

Speakers (chosen by the Organizing Committee):

Danqi Chen Princeton University
Jan Drgona Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Olivia Fischer Georgia Institute of Technology
Abhishek Gupta University of Washington
Ishi Keenum Michigan Technological University
Kaisen Lin Michigan State University
Mark Mimee University of Chicago
Amanda Randles Duke University
Meenakshi Rao Boston Children's Hospital
Maarten Sap Carnegie Mellon University
Yun Shen George Washington University
Shriya Srinivasan Harvard University
Phil Strandwitz Holobiome
Amanda Wilson University of Arizona
Carole-Jean Wu Meta

Organizing Committee:

Karen Willcox (Chair)

University of Texas at Austin

Sal Candido

Stealth Generative AI Startup

Nathan Crook

North Carolina State University

Kurtis Ford

Aperi CMC

Hannaneh Hajishirzi

University of Washington

Kerry Hamilton

Arizona State University

Erica Hartmann

Northwestern University

Khalil Ramadi

New York University

Omer San

University of Tennessee Knoxville


In addition to The Grainger Foundation, sponsors for the 2024 USFOE are the National Science Foundation and Cummins.

The mission of the NAE is to advance the welfare and prosperity of the nation by providing independent advice on matters involving engineering and technology, and by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and public appreciation of engineering. To accomplish its mission, the NAE proactively identifies and addresses issues by engaging engineers and individuals from a variety of professional and community networks and with diverse backgrounds, perspectives, traits, and skills. Informed by these engagements, the NAE promulgates the value of an engineering mindset for business, education, government, and daily life. The NAE is part of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, an independent, nonprofit organization chartered by Congress to provide objective analysis and advice to the nation on matters of science, technology, and health.


Sabrina Steinberg
Sabrina Steinberg
Communications/Media Associate