One in Five Newly-Elected NAE Members Are FOE Alumni

Thu, February 16, 2017

Sixteen FOE alumni are among the 84 new members and one FOE alum is among 22 new foreign members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Election to the NAE is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/ implementing innovative approaches to engineering education." Read the press release here.



  Ellen Arruda University of Michigan
  Gerbrand Ceder University of California, Berkeley 
  Birol Dindoruk Shell International E&P Inc. 
  Andrea Goldsmith Stanford University
  Paula Hammond Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Dan Hastings Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Dina Katabi Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Tsu-Jae King Liu University of California, Berkeley
  Ruby Leung Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 
  Jennifer Lewis Harvard University
  Omkaram Nalamasu Applied Materials Inc.
  Alex Slocum Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Michael Strano Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Mehmet Toner Harvard University
  Peter Winzer Nokia Bell Labs
  Dongxiao Zhang Peking University 
  Horst W. Hahn
  (Foreign Member)
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)